Tour of Britain: Winners and records

Wout van Aert - Tour of Britain: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosThe origins of the Tour of Britain date back to 1945. Although different events have been held under this name, the current edition is in place as of 2004. The route typically takes in a mix of flat and hilly stages, and an occasional individual time trial. brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Tour of Britain

2024: ?
2023: Wout van Aert (bel)
2022: Gonzalo Serrano (spa)
2021: Wout van Aert (bel)
2020: cancelled
2019: Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2018: Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2017: Lars Boom (nld)
2016: Stephen Cummings (gbr)
2015: Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor)
2014: Dylan van Baarle (nld)

During the turbulent history of the race – often with multiple versions during one season –, no rider has been able to pull off three overall victories. Yet, eight did win the Tour of Britain two times: Bill Bradley, Les West, Fedor den Hertog, Yuri Kashirin, Joey McLoughlin, Phil Anderson, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Lars Boom.

Bill Bradley is the only one to have won the Tour of Britain in two consecutive years. In 1959 and 1960 he took the Milk Race, one of the preceding races that ultimately led to the Tour of Britain as it is now known. The Milk Race started in 1958 and lasted for 35 years.

Lars BoomEdvald Boasson HagenStephen CummingsJulian AlaphilippeDylan van BaarleMathieu van der PoelWout van AertGonzalo Serrano

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles