La Course 2017: Annemiek van Vleuten climbs to victory on Izoard

The 1st stage of La Course is played out on a route of 67.5 kilometres in the High Alps. The race starts in Briancon to a finish on the Col d'Izoard. Annemiek van Vleuten solos to victory after an attack with 5 kilometres left to climb. Elizabet Deignan comes in second, Elisa Longo Borghini in third (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage 2017 La Course

1. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld)
2. Elizabeth Deignan-Armitstead (gbr) + 0.43
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 1.23
4. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 1.28
5. Shara Gillow (aus) + 1.33
6. Amanda Spratt (usa) + 1.41
7. Lauren Stephens (usa) + 1.51
8. Ana Cristina Sanabria Sanchez (col) + 2.24
9. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 2.52
10. Hanna Nilson (swe) + 3.04

11. Eri Yonamine (jap) + 3.12
12. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (rsa) + 3.16
13. Janneke Ensing (nld) + 3.38
14. Sabrina Stultiens (nld) + 4.25
15. Leah Kirchmann (can) + 4.34
16. Pauline Ferrand Prevot (fra) + s.t.
17. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) s.t.
18. Ursa Pintar (slo) s.t.
19. Karol-Ann Canuel (can) + 4.50
20. Rossella Rotta (ita) 5.08

Race report
Linda Villumsen launches an attack with 32 km remaining and she pushes on to race to a gap of almost 1 minute. When tackling the official climb up the Izoard it is down to 19 seconds, while she is caught by the main group with 9 kms left.

6 kms before the top the main group is down to ten riders. Van Vleuten, Deignan, Longo Borghini, Spratt, Stephens, Niewiadoma, Sanabria Sanchez, Yonamine and Guarnier are aboard.

When Van Vleuten speeds up Deignan and Gillow jump to her wheel. But another acceleration is enough to drop them as well. Deignan leaves Gillow behind before the Australian is caught by Longo Borghini.

Van Vleuten steady a steady pace and wins the race 43 seconds ahead of Deignan with the rest of the field more than 1 minute in arrears.

Interesting reads:
route 1st stage

La Course 2017 stage 1: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Annemiek van Vleuten

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
2 comment(s)

Related articles
Annemiek van Vleuten powers to overall victory - La Course 2017 Route stage 2: Pursuit in Marseille - La Course 2017
More articles