Tour of Flanders 2018 - women: Van der Breggen solos to win

The Tour of Flanders for women amounts to 150.9 kilometers, while the route takes in eleven sharp hills and five cobbled sectors. Anna van der Breggen attacks at Kruisberg with 30 kilometres to go and the Olympic Champion solos in stellar style to the win. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results women’s 2018 Tour of Flanders

2. Amy Pieters (nld) + 1.08
3. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.
4. Ashleigh Moorman (rsa) s.t.
5. Chantal Blaak (nld) s.t.
6. Małgorzata Jasińska (pol) s.t.
7. Ellen van Dijk (nld) s.t.
8. Lisa Brennauer (ger) s.t.
9. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) s.t.
10. Megan Guarnier (usa) + 1.11

Race report
Just before the Muur of Geraardsdbergen a crash decimates the pack. Christine Majerus is first to reach the crest with fiver riders on her wheel. After the descent some fifty riders regroup. Title defender Coryn Rivera, World Champion Chantal Blaak, Anna van der Breggen, Kasia Niewiadoma, Ellen van Dijk, Marianne Vos and home-rider Jolie D’Hoore – they are all there.

But then Kanarieberg does some damage. The bunch splits again.

Van der Breggen strikes at Kruisberg with 27 kms to go. The Olympic Champion tackles the final combo Oude Kwaremont/Paterberg 1 minute ahead of the chasers. On the last 13 kilometres on the flat the Olympic Champion widens the gap to pocket the win in stellar.

Amy Pieters and Annemiek van Vleuten round out the podium. Van der Breggen’s compatriots outsprint Ashleigh Moorman.

Read also: route women’s 2018 Tour of Flanders.

Tour of Flanders for women 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Anna van der Breggen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles

More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!