Ruta del Sol 2018: Favourites

The Ruta del Sol's 2018 route features a little bit of everything, so you have to be a versatile rider to win the race. brings you the main contenders to win the 64th Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista del Sol.

To win the 2018 Ruta del Sol climbing and time trialling are obligatory. As early as the 2nd stage the race takes in a tough summit finish at Alto de Allanadas after a 4.5 kilometres climb at 10.8%. Also, the 4th stage could have its impact on GC as this mountainous leg runs to a punchy last climb in
Alcalá de los Gazules. Stage 5 is an individual time trial of 13 kilometres with almost 5 kilometres on gravel roads.

Chris Froome is the only riders on the Ruta del Sol’s start list who won the race before. Chris Froome was the victor in his only attendance at La Vuelta a Andalucia – in 2015.

Favourites 2018 Ruta del Sol

*** Mikel Landa, Chris Froome
** David de la Cruz, Steven Kruijswijk, Andrey Amador, Wout Poels
* Tim Wellens, Jakob Fuglsang, Luis León Sánchez, Marc Soler

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
De la Cruz wins time trial, overall victory goes to Tim Wellens - Ruta del Sol 20 Wellens bests Landa at steep cobbled climb to take lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Modolo sprints to victory, Poels still leading - Ruta del Sol 20 Wout Poels wins at steep hill to take overall lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sprint victory and leader's jersey for Thomas Boudat in Granada - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Mijas - Granada - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Otura - Alto de Allanadas - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - Herrera - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Sevilla - Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Barbate - Barbate - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!