Ruta del Sol 2017: The Route

Ruta del Sol 2017The 2017 Ruta del Sol is played out from Wednesday 15 February to Sunday 20 February. The first serious multi-day test on European soil features three hilly races, an ITT, and a tough mountain stage on day two.

Stage 1 in the Ruta del Sol – a.k.a. the Vuelta a Andalucia – travels from Rincón de la Victoria on the Costa del Sol to Granada. The route takes in the climbs of Puerto de Zafaray, Alto del Navazo, Alto de Alhama, Alto del Lucero and the Puerto de Monachil. The last summit is crested with almost 19 kilometres remaining.

Stage 2 is the Queen Stage. The route takes in ascents of Valle Puerto Viejo, Puerto de las 7 Pilillas, Puerto de Torres and the Será la Peña del Águila. This is a 5.3 kilometres toil that takes the riders from an elevation of 779 metres to 1,269 metres above sea level. The Peña del Águila is averaging 9.3%.

The 3rd stage is an individual time trial of 11.9 kilometres in and around Lucena. After a 5% climb in the first 1.3 kilometre the route continues to travel on gently rolling roads.

At 179.3 kilometres, stage 4 is the longest in the 2017 Ruta del Sol. After leaving La Campana the route takes in the middle mountains with climbs up the Alto de las Minas, Alto de Constantina and Alto de Cazalla before a flat finish on Avenida Maria Luisa in Seville.

The closing stage travels from Setenil de las Bodegas to Coín. Following the ascents of Puerto del Viento and Puerto de las Abejas the riders drop down to the Mediterranean Sea. After a first passage in the arrival town the race is set to conclude with a hilly circuit of 57 kilometres featuring 3rd category Alto de Jarapalos. Trikcy arrival with a short ascent and even shorter drop to the line.

Alejandro Valverde is title holder. In last year’s Rute del Sol he held off Tejay van Garderen and Bauke Mollema to pocket his fourth win in the Andalucian race.

Ruta del Sol 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Wellens takes early break home, Valverde overall winner - Ruta del Sol 2017 Coquard outsprints pack in Seville, Valverde retains lead - Ruta del Sol 2017 Campenaerts wins ITT, Valverde new leader - Ruta del Sol 2017 Pinot takes Queen Stage, Contador new leader - Ruta del Sol 2017 Valverde takes 1st stage and leader's jersey - Ruta del Sol 2017 Route stage 1: Rincón de la Victoria – Granada - Ruta del Sol 2017 Route stage 2: Torredonjimeno - Mancha Réal - Ruta del Sol 2017 Route stage 3: Lucena – Lucena - Ruta del Sol 2017 Route stage 4: La Campana – Seville - Ruta del Sol 2017 Route stage 5: Setenil de las Bodegas – Coín - Ruta del Sol 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!