Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2020: Kasper Asgreen solos to victory

Kasper Asgreen solos to victory in Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. He attacks in the main group with 30 kilometres to go and just holds off the chasing peloton. Giacomo Nizzolo sprints to second place and Alexander Kristoff finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2020

1. Kasper Asgreen (den)
2. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) + 0.03
3. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
4. Fabio Jakobsen (nld) s.t.
5. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
6. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
7. Ben Swift (gbr) s.t.
8. Jürgen Roelandts (bel) s.t.
9. Kristoffer Halvorsen (nor) s.t.
10. Fabian Lienhard (swi) s.t.

Race report
Mikkel Bjerg, Roy Jans, Hugo Houle, Boris Vallée and Jonas Abrahamsen join forces after 20 kilometres to open up a gap of more than 6 minutes. Bjerg loses contact due to a mechanical issue.

A group with pre-race favourites Van Avermaet, Vanmarcke, Degenkolb, Stuyven, Stybar, Colbrelli, Kristoff and Rowe distances the peloton shortly after the hilly zone, but it comes together with 35 kilometres to go and 5 kilometres later the breakaway is history.

When Asgreen overhauls them Jans and Vallée go with the Dane. The trio carves out a gap of 45 seconds before Jans is dropped before the first passage on the line. Asgreen and Vallée enter the last lap of 15 kilometres 34 seconds ahead of the main group.

Asgreen leaves his last companion behind with 10 kilometres left and he wins the race tens of metres ahead of the charging peloton. Nizzolo sprints to second place, while Kristoff finishes in third.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2020.

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2020: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Kasper Asgreen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!