Tour of Flanders 2022: Van der Poel wins thrilling race

Mathieu van der Poel rvv - Tour of Flanders 2022: Van der Poel wins thrilling racefoto: Cor VosMathieu van der Poel wins a compelling edition of the Tour of Flanders. He outsprints Dylan van Baarle and Valentin Madouas on the line, while Tadej Pogacar is boxed in and finishes in fourth. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Ronde van Vlaanderen 2022

1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
3. Valentin Madouas (fra) s.t.
4. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
5. Stefan Küng (swi) + 0.02
6. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
7. Fred Wright (gbr) + 0.11
8. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.48
9. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
10. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.

Race report
Norsgaard and Boaro open a small gap in the first 5 kilometres, but the two are brought back.

Boaro goes again after more than 10 kilometres. Paasschens, Dewulf, Bohli, Kanter, De Vylder, Grignard, Van der Hoorn and Mozzato are his companions. The nine open up a gap of almost 5 minutes.

In the run-up to the Molenberg the gap has fallen to 4 minutes when Koch jumps clear from the peloton. Van Hooydonck goes on the climb to rejoin the German.

García accelerates just after the Berendries. Pedersen (Mads), Kirsch, Stybar, Steimle, Vermeersch (Gianni), Bettiol, Van Dijke, Le Gac, Haller, and Turner follow his move. The group regains contact with Koch/Van Hooydonck, while Wellens, Geniets and Swift (Connor) make it across before the second passage on Oude Kwaremont.

Pogacar speeds up on the climb with Asgreen in his wheel. The Tour de France winner reaches the summit in first position. The field is scattered all over the road.

The first group is down to 12 riders after the Paterberg. Van Baarle jumps clear with Wright.

Pogacar accelerates again on the Koppenberg. Van der Poel and Madouas go with him and the trio tracks down the two leaders on the Taaienberg.

At the foot of the last Oude Kwaremount ascent the first chasers – Küng, Benoot, Teuns – are 46 seconds in arrears.

Pogacar ups the pace and only Van der Poel is able to follow the move. The two remain together on the Paterberg.

The two build up a solid 30 seconds lead, but it evaporates in the last kilometre when Pogacar stays in the wheels of Van der Poel. This allows Van Baarle and Madouas to latch on in the final hundred metres.

Van der Poel kicks and sprints to triumph, while the Slovenian is shut out in the sprint, leaving Van Baarle and Madouas the option to complete the podium.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Tour of Flanders 2022.

Tour of Flanders 2022: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Tour of Flanders 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!