Dwars door Vlaanderen 2021: Van Baarle wins with long range attack

Dylan van Baarle ddv - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2021: Van Baarle wins with long range attackfoto: Cor VosDylan van Baarle strikes with more than 50 kilometres left to race. The Dutchman pulls it off and wins Dwars door Vlaanderen solo. Christophe Laporte outsprints Tim Merlier for second place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Dwars door Vlaanderen 2021

1. Dylan van Baarle (nld)
2. Christophe Laporte (fra) + 0.26
3. Tim Merlier (bel) s.t.
4. Yves Lampaert (bel) s.t.
5. Tosh Van der Sande (bel) s.t.
6. Alexander Kristoff (nor) s.t.
7. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
8. Anthony Turgis (fra) s.t.
9. Florian Sénéchal (fra) s.t.
10. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.

Race report
Ethan Hayter jumps off the front after the first two climbs, Kluisberg and Nieuwe Kwaremont, before Florian Vermeersch and Jelle Wallays join the Briton. Vermeersch can’t follow the pace, while the lead of the other two remains small.

Stefan Küng ups the pace ahead of the Taaienberg and the attackers are brought back on the climb. A group of some 30 riders distances the others.

Van Baarle goes alone on Berg ten Houte to open up a gap of 30 seconds.

On the Knokteberg a chasing group with Van Avermaet, Barguil, Laporte, Rui Oliveira, Teuns, Stuyven, Campenaerts, Sénéchal and Durbridge takes shape. Teuns drops back on the cobbles of the Varent.

The chase does not bear fruit and Van Baarle solos to triumph. Christophe Laporte and Tim Merlier round out the podium.

Another interesting read: route and start list 2021 Dwars door Vlaanderen.

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2021: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Dylan van Baarle

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Dwars door Vlaanderen 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!