Brabantse Pijl 2018: Tim Wellens solos to victory

The Brabantse Pijl is played out on a 201.9 kilometres route with 27 hills. Before the penultimate climb Tim Wellens strikes in the front group and he solos to the win in his home-race. Sonny Colbrelli sprints to second place, Tiesj Benoot finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2018 Brabantse Pijl

1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Sonny Colbrelli (ita)
3. Tiesj Benoot (bel)
4. Pieter Serry (bel)
5. Jan Tratnik (slo)
6. Andrea Pasqualon (ita)
7. Dylan Teuns (bel)
8. Huub Duijn (nld)
9. Thomas Sprengers (bel)
10. Daryl Impey (rsa)

Race report
Once the flag drops Dries De Bondt, Antoine Warnier, Tyler Williams, Calvin Watson, Elmar Reinders, Eduard Michael Grosu and Andrea Peron open up a gap, which they widen to 8 minutes.

With 60 kms to go the lead falls below 1 minute and Tosh Van der Sande and Jack Haig bridge across.

Van der Sande and Haig are the last leaders with one 24 kilometres lap to go. They are caught at 11 kms before the line, while climbing Holstheide. Vanendert accelerates and Wellens, Gasparotto, Serry, Pauwels, Meurisse and Lindeman join him.

Wellens goes alone with 8 kms remaining. The home-rider distances the chasers to tackle the penultimate climb on IJskelderlaan with a 20 seconds lead and again on the last haul up the Schavei. The Flemish rider pockets the win, while title defender Sonny Colbrelli comes in second and Wellens’ team-mate Tiesj Benoot in third.

Read also: route 2018 Brabantse Pijl.

Brabantse Pijl 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Tim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Brabantse Pijl 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!