BinckBank Tour 2017: The Route

BinckBank Tour 2017BinckBank Tour is thew new incarnation of the Eneco Tour. The name refers to the new sponsor, while the layout is the same as with the predecessor, so a mix of sprint stages and hilly stages and one ITT. The BinckBanck Tour starts 7 August in the Netherlands to finish 13 August on the Wall of Geraardsbergen in Belgium.

The 1st stage of the BinckBanck Tour is a flat ride from Breda to Venray, while the GC will have another appearance after the 2nd stage as this is a 13 kilometres time trial – also on flat roads. In stage 3 it’s back to the fast men with a false flat arrival in Ardooie. Last year, Peter Sagan sprinted to victory on exactly the same course.

Although the route features some hills, the 4th stage is yet another chance for fast finishers. It’s a circuit around Lanaken, arrival place in 2016, too. In last edition, the break away held off the chasing pack and Luka Pibernik sprinted to victory.

Stage 5 is the first hilly stage with start and finish in Sittard-Geleen. The route takes in some hills from Amstel Gold Race, while stage 6 bears some resemblance to Liège-Bastogne-Liège as this race is played out in the Ardennes. The finish is in Houffalize, where Tim Wellens powered to victory in 2015’s Eneco Tour, thus laying the foundation for his overall victory that year.

The 7th and last stage of the BinckBanck Tour takes in a closing circuit with the iconic Wall of Geraardsbergen as eye-catcher. The finish is halfway up the climb.

Niki Terpstra is title holder. The last podium of the Eneco Tour was rounded out by Oliver Naesen and Peter Sagan.

BinckBank Tour 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Route stage 2: ITT in Voorburg (Nld) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 3: Blankenberge (Bel) - Ardooie (Bel) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 4: Lanaken (Bel) - Lanaken - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 5: Sittard/Geleen (Nld) - Sittard/Geleen - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 6: Riemst (B) - Houffalize (B) - BinckBank Tour 2017 Route stage 7: Essen (B) - Geraardsbergen (B) - BinckBank Tour 2017
More articles