Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 5: Valls - Lo Port (Tortosa)

Volta a Catalunya 2017 stage 5Friday, 24 March 2017 - The route of stage 5 in the Volta a Catalunya travels in 182 kilometres from Valls to Lo Port. Following a flat section through the Ebro-valley the race is set to detonate the fireworks with a 8,4 kilometres closing climb at 9% with ramps of up to 20%.

Valls and pro-cycling is a weathered combination. In 2013 the town hosted the Vuelta a España, while in in last four editions of the Volta a Catalunya stages finished here. Simon Gerrans (2013), Luka Mezgec (2014), Alejandro Valverde (2015), and Wout Poels (2016) took the flowers.

No arrival in Valls this time, but the start of a possibly descisive stage.

The 5th stage of the Volta a Catalunya takes in the 14.4 kilometres Coll de Fatxes (averaging at 2.7%) in the first half of the race before a flat section of 55 kilometres through the delta of the Ebro River ushers in an explosive finale. Suddenly, with 8.4 kilometres left, the flatness makes way for steep ramps. The closing climb up to Lo Port is averaging 9%, while the max incline amounts to 20%.

The last victor at Lo Port was Luis Herrera. We’re talking 1991 here.

The first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while two intermediate sprints (at kilometre 109.1 and at kilometre 131.2) come with 3, 2 and 1 second each.

Results/race report 5th stage Volta a Catalunya 2017.

Volta a Catalunya 2017 stage 5: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Recent Winners - Volta a Catalunya Valverde powers to overall win with third stage victory - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Impey wins sprint, Valverde cements overall lead - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Nacer Bouhanni sprints to victory, Van Garderen retains GC-lead - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Valverde outsprints Dan Martin in La Molina, Van Garderen new leader - Volta a Catalunya 2017 BMC wins TTT - Movistar penalised for pushing - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Cimolai outsprints Bouhanni to take first leaders jersey - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 1: Calella – Calella - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 2: TTT in Banyoles - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 3: Mataró - La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 4: Montferrer - Igualada - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 6: Tortosa - Reus - Volta a Catalunya 2017 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2017
More articles