Giro Rosa 2017: The Route

Giro Rosa 2017The Giro Rosa is played out from Friday, 30 June to Sunday, 9 July. The 10-day stage race takes in four flat and four hilly stages, while two time trials - one for teams, one individual - add up to ten. brings you the route of the 28th edition of the Giro Rosa. (Slideshow route/profile)

The 2017 Giro Rosa starts in Aquileia with an 11.5 kilometres team time trial that sets up the pecking order. Stage 2 is mainly flat, yet the riders tackle a 5.2 kilometres climb at 8% with 30 kilometres remaining. The following two days, however, the routes of the 3rd stage and the 4th stage are tailor made for pure sprinters.

At 12.7 kilometres, stage 5 is arguably the hardest day in the 2017 Giro Rosa as the route of the ITT takes in two punchy climbs with ramps in the double digits, while stage 6 should suit the fast finishers. The 7th stage runs on rolling roads before stage 8 is the Queen Stage, although the route peaks at a modest elevation of 753 metres. The most challenging section is a three staged ascent in the second half of the race.

With the exception of some minor hurdles in the first half of the race, the course of the 9th stage is flat. The 2017 Giro Rosa comes to a halt with stage 10, which is a criterium in Torre del Greco. The final lap is spiced up with a climb up the slopes of Mount Vesuvius. The 5.6 kilometres climb at 6.4% is crested with 10.3 kilometres remaining.

Megan Guarnier is title holder. Evelyn Stevens and Anna van der Breggen rounded out the podium in last year’s Giro Rosa.

Giro Rosa 2017: Route maps, height profiles, etc.

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of the Giro d'Italia:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 3: San Fior - San Vendemanio Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 4: Occhiobello – Occhiobello Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 5: ITT in Sant'Elpido a Mare Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 6: Roseto degli Abruzzi - Roseto degli Abruzzi Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 7: Isernia - Baronissi Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 8: Baronissi - Palinuro (Centola) Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 9: Palinuro (Centola) - Polla Giro Rosa 2017 Route stage 10: Torre del Greco - Torre del Greco
More articles