Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Sprint triumph Gaviria, Großschartner remains leader

Fernando Gaviria sprints to victory in the 2nd stage of the Vuelta a Burgos. Arnaud Démare and Sam Bennett finish in second and third. Felix Großschartner stays in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Vuelta a Burgos 2020

1. Fernando Gaviria (col)
2. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
3. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
4. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
5. Jon Aberasturi (spa) s.t.
6. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
7. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
8. Edward Theuns (bel) s.t.
9. Pascal Eenkhoorn (nld) s.t.
10. Mikel Aristi (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Felix Großschartner (aut)
2. Jon Aberasturi (spa) + 0.08
3. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
4. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
6. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
7. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
8. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
9. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
10. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.

Race report
Five men jump clear in the early stages of the race. Riccardo Verza, Joel Nicolau, Ángel Fuentes, Alessandro Fedelli and Fransisco ‘Kiko’ Galván open up a gap of 5 minutes. They reach that margin with 100 kilometres remaining.

As expected, the break does not last. The first attacker, Ángel Fuentes, is brought back with 24 kilometres to go. The others are caught 8 kilometres later.

The last kilometre goes false flat downhill and the riders enter the a right-hander at breakneck. A crash disrupts the sprint preparation, except Gaviria’s. The Colombian jumps clear and storms to the line to take his first 2020 victory with a clear margin.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2020 Vuelta a Burgos.

Vuelta a Burgos 2020 stage 2: route, profile, finale

Click on the images to zoom

Fernando Gaviria

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Sosa wins last stage, GC victory Evenepoel Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Power triumph Sam Bennett, Evenepoel still leader Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Evenepoel takes GC lead at Picón Blanco Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Großschartner climbs to first leader's jersey Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 1: Burgos - Burgos Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 2: Castrojeriz - Villadiego Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 3: Sargentes de la Lora - Picón Blanco Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 4: Gumiel de Izán - Roa de Duero Vuelta a Burgos 2020 Route stage 5: Covarrubias - Lagunas de Neila Vuelta a Burgos 2021: The Route Vuelta a Burgos 2021: Riders Vuelta a Burgos 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!