Vuelta 2022: Pedersen takes third win, Evenepoel keeps La Roja

Mads Pedersen Vuelta - Vuelta 2022: Pedersen takes third win, Evenepoel keeps La Rojaimage: Cor VosThe 19th stage is supposed to be a day for the breakaway. But that does not materialise, as Trek-Segafredo takes control of the race. Obviously, to launch Mads Pedersen onto the home straight. The Dane sprints to his third stage win, while Remco Evenepoel keeps La Roja. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 19th stage 2022 Vuelta

1. Mads Pedersen (den)
2. Fred Wright (gbr) s.t.
3. Gianni Vermeersch (bel) s.t.
4. Ben Turner (gbr) s.t.
5. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
6. Jonas Koch (ger) s.t.
7. Omer Goldstein (isr) s.t.
8. Raul Garcia Pierna (spa) s.t.
9. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
10. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 19

1. Remco Evenepoel (bel)
2. Enric Mas (spa) + 2.07
3. Juan Ayuso (spa) + 5.14
4. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 5.56
5. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) + 6.49
6. João Almeida (por) + 7.14
7. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 8.09
8. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 9.34
9. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 9.56
10. Jai Hindley (aus) + 12.03

Race report
Caicedo, McNulty and Okamika manage to break clear in a fast opening. Craddock goes after them and he reaches the summit of the Puerto de Piélago 40 seconds after the trio. The peloton trails at 4 minutes at that point.

Craddock stops his efforts just before the midway marker of the race and he sits up.

Trek-Segafredo keeps pulling at the front of the peloton and the attackers are caught in the second ascent of the Puerto de Piélago. Carapaz cements his KOM lead at the summit.

Mads Pedersen powers to victory in the ensuing bunch sprint. The Dane outguns Fred Wright and Gianni Vermeersch.

The GC remains unchanged with Evenepoel in the lead ahead of Mas and Ayuso.

Another interesting read: route 19th stage 2022 Vuelta.

Vuelta 2022 stage 19: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mads Pedersen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 19: Sprint of attackers - Vuelta 20 The Route - Vuelta 20 Riders - Vuelta 20 Results - Vuelta 20 GC Favourites - Vuelta 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!