Vuelta 2020: Ackermann wins, Bennett relegated, Carapaz still in red

The 9th stage is as flat as it gets at La Vuelta and the race comes down to a bunch sprint. Sam Bennett outguns Pascal Ackermann and Gerben Thijssen before the Irishman is relegated for a dangerous move in the finale. Richard Carapaz keeps the red jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 9th stage Vuelta a España 2020

1. Pascal Ackermann (ger)
2. Gerben Thijssen (bel) s.t.
3. Max Kanter (ger) s.t.
4. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
5. Jakub Mareczko (ita) s.t.
6. Alexis Renard (fra) s.t.
7. Jon Aberasturi (spa) s.t.
8. Lorrenzo Manzin (Fran) s.t.
9. Robert Stannard (nzl) s.t.
10. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (rsa) s.t.

GC after stage 9
1. Richard Carapaz (ecu)
2. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.13
3. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.28
4. Hugh Carthy (gbr) + 0.44
5. Enric Mas (spa) + 1.54
6. Felix Großschartner (aut) + 3.28
7. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
8. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 3.35
9. Marc Soler (spa) + 3.40
10. Wout Poels (nld) + 3.47

Race report
Aritz Bagües and Juan Felipe Osorio attack from the gun to open up a maximum gap of more than 5 minutes before the peloton takes the reins.

The attackers are reeled in with 22 kilometres remaining.

Sam Bennett outguns Pascal Ackermann and Gerben Thijssen in the ensuing sprint, but he is relegated after a jury decision. So Ackermann is declared winner.

Richard Carapaz stays in the race lead.

Other interesting reads:
route 9th stage Vuelta a España
points classification

Vuelta a España 2020 stage 9: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Pascal Ackermann

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Vuelta 2020 Riders - Vuelta 2020 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2020 Results - Vuelta 2020 GC Favourites - Vuelta 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!