Vuelta 2019: Jakobsen wins in Madrid, Roglic seals GC victory

Fabio Jakobsen sprints to victory in Madrid. The Dutch Champion outguns Sam Bennet to take his second victory on this Vuelta. Primoz Roglic wins the GC ahead of Alejandro Valverde and Tadej Pogacar. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 21th stage Vuelta a España 2019

1. Fabio Jakobsen (nld)
2. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
3. Szymon Sajnok (pol) s.t.
4. Jon Aberasturi (spa) s.t.
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) s.t.
6. Edward Theuns (bel) s.t.
7. Tosh Van Der Sande (bel) s.t.
8. Clément Venturini (fra) s.t.
9. Marc Sarreau (fra) s.t.
10. Dion Smith (nzl) s.t.

Final GC
1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 2.16
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 2.38
4. Nairo Quintana (col) + 3.29
5. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 4.31
6. Rafal Majka (pol) + 7.16
7. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 9.47
8. Carl Fredrik Hagen (nor) + 12.54
9. Marc Soler (spa) 22.10
10. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 22.17

Race report
The riders pedal at an easy pace to Madrid before the race ignites shorty after the first passage on the line. Plenty of attacks but nothing sticks until Daniel Felipe Martínez and Diego Rubio open up a gap. The breakaway two are brought back in the penultimate lap.

The race boils down to a sprint at breakneck speeds. Young Fabio Jakobsen outguns San Bennett and wins his second stage on this Vuelta.

Primoz Roglic seals the overall victory ahead of Alejandro Valverde and Tadej Pogacar.

Other interesting reads:
route last stage 2019 Vuelta a España
final points classification
final mountains classification

Vuelta a España 2019 stage 21: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Fabio Jakobsen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 21: Madrilenean sprint fiesta - Vuelta 2019 The Route - Vuelta 2019 Riders - Vuelta 2019 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2019 Results - Vuelta 2019 Favourites - Vuelta 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!