Volta a Catalunya 2020: The Route

Volta a Catalunya 2020The Volta a Catalunya is set to kick off with an out-and-back race in Calella to finish at Barcelona's Montjuic circuit. In terms of GC, the race is expected to come down to the ITT on the second day and the high altitude finishes of stage 3 and stage 4. The only uncertainty is the date. The race has been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Although it’s the ninth consecutive time that the Volta a Catalunya starts with a race from Calella to Calella, the route is never the same. Last year’s opener was very mountainous, which inspired Thomas De Gendt to solo to victory. The 1st stage of this edition is less demanding, but still features three climbs.

The race serves an individual time trial on stage 2. The riders travel from Banyoles back to Banyoles on a rolling 21.1 kilometres route.

De GC battle intensifies further on the third day of action. Stage 3 kicks into gear near the Canal Olímpic Catalunya in Castelldefels to finish uphill in Vallter 2000. The climb to the ski station is 11 kilometres long and the average gradient sits at 7.6%.

The 4th stage travels over two intermediate climbs from Ripoll to Port Ainé. The finish climb averages 6.8% across its length of 18.5 kilometres.

On stage 5 the riders travel from La Pobla de Segur to Manresa. On paper, this race must be appealing to attackers.

The Volta a Catalunya returns after 38 years to Mataró on the 6th stage. The last finish in the geographic centre of Catalonia dates back to 1982, when Dutchman Johan van der Velde took the spoils. A sprint finish is the most likely scenario in 2020.

The final stage ends with six runs on the hilly 6.6 kilometres Montjuic-circuit in Barcelona. Davide Formolo won this race in 2019, while Miguel Ángel López sealed the overall victory ahead of Adam Yates and Egan Bernal.

Volta a Catalunya 2020: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 1: Calella - Calella - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 2: ITT in Banyoles - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 3: Castelldefels - Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 4: Ripoll - Port Ainé - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 5: La Pobla de Segur - Manresa - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 6: Tarragona - Mataró - Volta a Catalunya 2020 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2020
More articles