Volta a Catalunya: Winners and records

alejandro valverde 2018 - Volta a Catalunya: Recent WinnersThe Volta a Catalunya is a stage race dating back to 1911 and held in March, just after Paris-Nice and the Tirreno-Adriatico. Typically, the race takes in a mix of sprint stages and races in the high mountains, while time trials are rare. Cyclingstage.com brings you the recent winners along with the records. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Volta a Catalunya

2018: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Nairo Quintana (col)
2015: Richie Porte (aus)
2014: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)

Records in the Volta a Catalunya
Spain took by far the most GC-wins at the Catalan stage-race and therefore it is not surprising a Spaniard holds the record of most victories. In the period 1928-1939 Mariano Cañardo was the ruthless ruler with seven wins. After him Miguel Indurain and Alejandro Valverde come closest with three victories each.

If we are talking stage-wins Miguel Poblet is in a class of his own. From 1947 to 1960 he pocketed 33 stages.

Volta a Catalunya: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Alberto ContadorDaniel MartinNairo QuintanaRichie PorteAlejandro Valverde

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 2: Mataró – Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 3: Sant Feliu de Guíxols – Vallter 2000 (Setcases) - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 4: Llanars (Vall de Camprodon) – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 5: Puigcerdà – Sant Cugat del Vallès - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 6: Valls – Vila-seca - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 7: Barcelona – Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2019
More articles