Volta a Catalunya: Recent Winners

alejandro valverde 2017 - Volta a Catalunya: Recent WinnersThe Volta a Catalunya is a stage race dating back to 1911 and held in March, just after Paris-Nice and the Tirreno-Adriatico. The menu offers a mixture of sprint stages and mountain stages, whilst time trials are rare in recent years. Cyclingstage.com brings you the recent winners along with the records. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Volta a Catalunya

2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Nairo Quintana (col)
2015: Richie Porte (aus)
2014: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)
2013: Daniel Martin (irl)
2012: Michael Albasini (swi)
2011: Alberto Contador (spa)
2010: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)
2009: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2008: Gustavo César Veloso (spa)
2007: Vladimir Karpets (rus)
2006: David Cañada (spa)
2005: Jaroslav Popovitsj (ukr)
2004: Miguel Perdiguero (spa)
2003: José Antonio Pecharroman (spa)
2002: Roberto Heras (spa)
2001: Joseba Beloki (spa)
2000: José María Jiménez (spa)

Records in the Volta a Catalunya
Spaniards did win 59 out of all 97 editions and therefore it is not surprising a Spaniard holds the record of most victories. In the period 1928-1939 Mariano Cañardo was the ruthless ruler with seven wins. After him Miguel Indurain came closest with three victories.

If we are talking stage-wins Miguel Poblet is in a class of his own. From 1947 to 1960 he took 33 stages.

Volta a Catalunya: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Joaquim RodriguezAlberto ContadorDaniel MartinNairo QuintanaRichie PorteAlejandro ValverdeGreg van AvermaetSamuel Sánchez

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Overview - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 1: Calella - Calella - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 2: Mataró - Valls - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Sant Cugat del Vallès - Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: Llanars - La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: Llívia - Vielha e Mijaran - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Vielha e Mijaran - Torrefarrera - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles