UAE Tour 2020: The Route

UAE Tour 2020The 2020 UAE Tour started on Sunday 23 February and was meant to finish on Saturday the 29th, but the last two stage were called off after two staff members of one of the participating teams tested positive for the coronavirus.

The UAE Tour kicks off with a flat race of 148 kilometres with start and finish in Dubai. Stage 1 sets off from Palm Jumeirah to finish in Silicon Oasis, a suburb boasting tech and innovation.

At 168 kilometres, the 2nd stage serves the most lumpy route of this edition. The race sets off from Hatta to penetrate the desert until Fujairah. The way back is almost identical, but the finale is different. The riders finish at the short and sharp rise of the Hatta Dam with its max gradients at 17% just before the line.

This year’s route takes in two ascents of Jebel Hafeet, the first of which takes place on stage 3. The final drag is 10.6 kilometres long and the average gradient sits at 6.6%.

It is back to the fast men in stage 4. At 173 kilometres, the race is a Dubaian affair, as the riders clip into their pedals in Zabeel Park to unclip near Dubai’s City Walk.

The 5th stage is likely to be decisive in terms of GC. The 162 kilometres route runs on the flat to the second finish atop Jebel Hafeet.

The 6th stage runs from Al Ruwais to Al Mirfa. The flat route serves an uphill kicker inside the last 1.5 kilometres to stir up the expected bunch sprint.

The final stage is the shortest race of this UAE Tour. At 127 kilometres, the riders navigate the pan-flat and wide streets in and near Abu Dhabi City.

Primoz Roglic is title holder. The Slovenian won last year’s race ahead of Alejandro Valverde and David Gaudu.

UAE Tour 2020: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Pogacar takes five-up sprint, Yates wins GC - UAE Tour 2020 Sprint win Groenewegen, Yates keeps GC lead - UAE Tour 2020 Adam Yates climbs to leader's jersey on Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 2020 Ewan wins atop Hatta Dam to take race lead - UAE Tour 2020 Ackermann powers to first leader's jersey - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 1: Dubai - Dubai - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 2: Hatta - Hatta Dam - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 3: Al Quadra Cycle Track - Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 4: Dubai - Dubai - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 5: Al Ain - Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 6: Al Ruwais - Al Mirfa - UAE Tour 2020 Route stage 7: Al Maryah Island - Abu Dhabi - UAE Tour 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!