Tour of Valencia: Winners and records

Aleksandr Vlasov - Tour of Valencia: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosVolta a la Comunitat Valenciana, or Tour of Valencia, is in existence since 1929. It’s the first multiple-stage race in Europe. brings you the recent winners and the records.

Recent winners Tour of Valencia

2023: ?
2022: Aleksandr Vlasov (rus)
2021: Stefan Küng (swi)
2020: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2019: Ion Izagirre (spa)
2018: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2017: Nairo Quintana (col)
2016: Wouts Poels (nld)
2009 – 2015 no race/no winner
2008: Rubén Plaza (spa)
2007: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2006: Antonio Colom (spa)

Record winners Tour of Valencia
Most overall victories (by far) were by Spaniards with Alejandro Valverde standing out. He is the only rider to win the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana three times. He was the victor in 2004, 2007 and 2018.

A number of riders did win the race twice. Fédérico Ezquerra, Salvador Botella, Fernando Manzaneque, José Pérez Francés, Melcior Mauri are all Spaniards, and the only non-Spanish rider on this list is Alex Zülle.

Melcior Mauri won the race in 1991 and 1992, making him the only rider to win the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana back-to-back.

José Pérez Francés (1936-2021) took most stage victories, namely eleven.

Nairo QuintanaAlejandro ValverdeWout PoelsStefan KüngRuben PlazaIon IzagirreAleksandr Vlasov

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles