Tour of Flanders 2020: Van Avermaet wins first virtual edition

Greg Van Aermaet solos to victory in the virtual Tour of Flanders. The Olympic champion attacks on Paterberg nd holds of chasers Oliver Naesen and Nicolas Roche, who finish in second and third. (Slideshow route/profile)

1. Greg Van Avermaet
2. Oliver Naesen + 0.20
3. Nicolas Roche + 0.21
4. Thomas De Gendt + 0.50
5. Jasper Stuyven + 1.33
6. Remco Evenepoel + 1.42
7. Tim Wellens + 2.08
8. Wout Van Aert 2.21
9. Mike Teunissen + 2.38
10. Zdenek Stybar + 3.29
11. Yves Lampaert + 3.29
12. Alberto Bettiol s.t.
DNF. Michael Matthews

Race report
Evenepoel and Bettiol are the first riders to go on the attack. After the Kruisberg/Hotond climb De Gendt and Roche rejoin the duo, while Van Avermaet and Naesen make it across somewhat later.

Heading for Oude Kwaremont, Bettiol can’t follow the pace, while Evenepoel jumps clear on the uphill. Yet, the other four bring him back.

Van Avermaet is the first rider over the Paterberg. Evenepoel drops back and Stuyven overhauls him.

Naesen ups the pace with 2.5 kilometres remaining and Roche goes with him. But is is too late. Van Avermaet powers to the win, while Naesen wins the sprint for second place.

Also interesting: route and start list virtual Tour of Flanders.

Tour of Flanders 2020 – virtual: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Tour of Flanders 2020 - virtual: Riders - Tour of Flanders 2020 Overview - Tour of Flanders 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!