Tour of California: Recent Winners

george bennett - Tour of California: Recent WinnersThe Tour of California is a relatively new race, beginning in 2006. In a short period of time it has become the most prestigious stage race in the United States. presents the race winners since that first edition.

Winners Tour of California

2017: George Bennett (nzl)
2016: Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2015: Peter Sagan (svk)
2014: Bradley Wiggins (gbr)
2013: Tejay van Garderen (usa)
2012: Robert Gesink (nld)
2011: Chris Horner (usa)
2010: Michael Rogers (aus)
2009: Levi Leipheimer (usa)
2008: Levi Leipheimer (usa)
2007: Levi Leipheimer (usa)
2006: Floyd Landis (usa)

Records Tour of California

Levi Leipheimer has 3 GC wins in 8 editions of the Tour of California, what makes him the clear record holder. The retired rider is 2 wins ahead of relative youngsters Robert Gesink (May 31, 1986) and Tejay van Garderen (August 12, 1988), who could catch up with him in upcoming years.

Peter Sagan has the most stage victories in California with 16. He also took 5 out of 8 available stages in the 2012 edition.

Chris Horner is the oldest winner of the Tour of California. In 2011 he was 39 years of age when he topped the GC.

Tour of California 2014: Images and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Peter SaganBradley WigginsRobert GesinkTejay van GarderenJulian Alaphilippe

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Route stage 2: Ventura - Santa Barbara (Gibraltar Road) - Tour of California 20 Route stage 3: King City - Laguna Seca - Tour of California 20 Route stage 4: ITT in San Jose/Morgan Hill - Tour of California 20 Route stage 5: Stockton - Elk Grove - Tour of California 20 Route stage 6: Folsom - South Lake Tahoe - Tour of California 20 Route stage 7: Sacramento - Sacramento - Tour of California 20
More articles