Tour of Britain: Recent winners

Tour of Britain: Recent winners

lars boom - Tour of Britain: Recent winnersThe origins of the Tour of Britain date back to 1945. Although different events have been held under this name, the current edition is in place as of 2004. The route typically takes in a mix of flat and hilly stages, and sometimes an individual time trial. brings you the recent winners and the records.

Recent winners Tour of Britain

2017: Lars Boom (nld)
2016: Stephen Cummings (gbr)
2015: Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor)
2014: Dylan van Baarle (nld)
2013: Bradley Wiggins (gbr)
2012: Nathan Haas (aus)
2011: Lars Boom (nld)
2010: Michael Albasini (swi)
2009: Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor)
2008: Geoffroy Lequatre (fra)

During the turbulent history of the race – often with multiple versions during one season –, no rider has been able to pull off three overall victories. Yet, eight did win the Tour of Britain two times: Bill Bradley, Les West, Fedor den Hertog, Yuri Kashirin, Joey McLoughlin, Phil Anderson, Edvald Boasson Hagen and Lars Boom.

Bill Bradley is the only one to have won the Tour of Britain in two consecutive years. In 1959 and 1960 he took the Milk Race, one of the preceding races that ultimately led to the Tour of Britain as it is now known. The Milk Race started in 1958 and lasted for 35 years.

Tour of Britain: Social Media

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 2: Cranbrook - Barnstaple - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 3: Bristol - Bristol - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 4: Nuneaton - Leamington Spa - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 5: Cockermouth - Whinlatter Pass - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 6: Barrow-in-Furness - Whinlatter Pass - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 7: West Bridgford - Mansfield - Tour of Britain 20 Route stage 8: Criterium in London - Tour of Britain 20
More articles