Tirreno-Adriatico 2016: Favourites

Wednesday 9 March, the 2016 Tirreno-Adriatico kicks into gear with a team time trial. All GC guys will be focused on stage 5, which is the only real mountain stage with a 13 kilometres closing climb à 6.6%. Cyclingstage.com takes a closer look at riders bidding for the overall in the upcoming Tirreno-Adriatico.

Underneath was written before the start of the 2016 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Fabian Cancellara, Vincenzo Nibali and Michele Scarponi are the only riders at the start list who did have have the satisfaction of winning the Race of the Two Seas. Spartacus was best in 2008, Scarponi in 2009, while the Shark of Messina raised the trident in glory after back to back wins in in 2012 and 2013.

Both the time trials and stage 5 promise to be decisive as far as the overall goes. Last year, Nairo Quintana took control in the only mountain stage and he could freewheel to victory in the closing individual time trial.

Overall contenders with strong ITT talents at the start are Alejandro Valverde, Rigoberto Uran and Tejay van Garderen. The American is backed up by a strong BMC squad, World Champions time trialing, so his recipe for success could be: win the TTT, keep an eye on the best climbers in stage 5, and then ad a finishing touch in the ITT on the last day.

Wout Poels, Vincenzo Nibali and Alejandro Valverde are the only contenders who did win a multiple stage race in 2016. Poels won the Vuelta a Valencia, Nibali the Tour of Oman, while Valverde was the victor in the Ruta del Sol.

Favourites Tirreno-Adriatico 2016:

*** Vincenzo Nibali, Alejandro Valverde, Tejay van Garderen, Bauke Mollema
** Thibaut Pinot, Rigoberto Uran, Wout Poels, Domenico Pozzovivo
* Joaquim Rodriguez, Johan Esteban Chaves, Rafael Valls, Daniel Martin

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Cancellara takes ITT, Van Avermaet wins overall with Sagan 1 second down - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Van Avermaet outsprints Sagan and takes leaders jersey in stage 6 - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Stage 5 cancelled due to snow - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Cummings solos to victory, Stybar retains lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Gaviria outsprints Ewan in stage 3, Stybar still in the lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Super Stybar - stage win and leaders jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 World Champion BMC wins TTT, Daniel Oss first leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 1: Lido di Camaiore – Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 2: Camaiore – Pomarance - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 3: Castelnuovo Val di Cecina – Montalto di Castro - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 4: Montalto di Castro – Foligno - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 5: Foligno – Monte San Vicino (cancelled) - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 6: Castelraimondo – Cepagatti - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto – San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!