Ruta del Sol: Winners and records

Wout poels rds - Ruta del Sol: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosEach year in February, the Ruta del Sol is held in the deep south of Spain. After a first edition in 1925 it lasted until 1955 for the race - also called the Vuelta a Andalucía - to really take off. brings you recent winners and records.

Recent winners Ruta del Sol

2022: Wout Poels (nld)
2021: Miguel Ángel López (col)
2020: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2019: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2018: Tim Wellens (bel)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2015: Chris Froome (gbr)

Records Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde feels right at home in Andalucia. He did win the race in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017, which makes him record holder in terms of GC triumphs.

Furthermore, he took eight stages, making him almost record holder in that respect also. With nine stage wins, Óscar Freire is the only rider in history who performed better at the Ruta del Sol.

Chris FroomeAlejandro ValverdeTim WellensWout PoelsMiguel Angel LopezJakob Fuglsang

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Ruta del Sol 20 Kämna climbs to victory, Poels seals GC - Ruta del Sol 20 Poels outsprints Lutsenko to take race lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sheffield wins with late attack, Covi keeps lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Covi climbs into leader's jersey - Ruta del Sol 20 Young Rune Herregodts wins stage 1 - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Ubrique - Iznájar - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Archidona - Alcalá la Real - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Lucena - Otura - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Cúllar Vega - Baza - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Huesa - Chiclana de Segura - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!