Ruta del Sol: Winners and records

tim wellens 2018 - Ruta del Sol: Recent WinnersEach year in February, the Ruta del Sol is held in the deep south of Spain. After a first edition in 1925 it lasted until 1955 for the race - also called the Vuelta a Andalucía - to really take off. brings you recent winners and records.

Recent winners Ruta del Sol

2018: Tim Wellens (bel)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2015: Chris Froome (gbr)
2014: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2013: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2012: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2011: Markel Irízar (spa)
2010: Michael Rogers (aus)
2009: Joost Posthuma (nld)
2008: Pablo Lastras (spa)
2007: Oscar Freire (spa)
2006: Carlos García Quesada (spa)

Records Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde feels right at home in Andalucia. He did win the race in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017, which makes him record holder. Furthermore, he took eight stages, making him record holder in that respect also.

Ruta del Sol: Google Maps, videos and more

Click on the images to zoom

Chris FroomeAlejandro ValverdeTim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 1: Sanlúcar de Barrameda – Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Torredonjimeno - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - La Guardia de Jaén - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 4: Armilla - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 5: Otura - Alhaurín de la Torre - Ruta del Sol 2019
More articles