Ruta del Sol: Recent Winners

tim wellens 2018 - Ruta del Sol: Recent WinnersEach year in February, the Ruta del Sol is held in the deep south of Spain. After a first edition in 1925 it lasted until 1955 for the race - also called the Vuelta a Andalucía - to really take off. brings you recent winners and records.

Recent winners Ruta del Sol

2018: Tim Wellens (bel)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2015: Chris Froome (gbr)
2014: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2013: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2012: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2011: Markel Irízar (spa)
2010: Michael Rogers (aus)
2009: Joost Posthuma (nld)
2008: Pablo Lastras (spa)
2007: Oscar Freire (spa)
2006: Carlos García Quesada (spa)

Records Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde feels right at home in Andalucia. He did win the race in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017, which makes him record holder. Furthermore, he took eight stages, making him record holder in that respect also.

Ruta del Sol: Google Maps, videos and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Chris FroomeAlejandro ValverdeTim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Overview - Ruta del Sol 20 De la Cruz wins time trial, overall victory goes to Tim Wellens - Ruta del Sol 20 Wellens bests Landa at steep cobbled climb to take lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Modolo sprints to victory, Poels still leading - Ruta del Sol 20 Wout Poels wins at steep horror hill to take overall lead - Ruta del Sol 20 Sprint victory and leader's jersey for Thomas Boudat in Granada - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 1: Mijas - Granada - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 2: Otura - Alto de Allanadas - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - Herrera - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 4: Sevilla - Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 20 Route stage 5: Barbate - Barbate - Ruta del Sol 20
More articles