Paris - Roubaix 2021: Colbrelli wins three-up sprint

Sonny Colbrelli roubaix - Paris - Roubaix 2021: Colbrelli wins three-up sprintimage: Cor VosParis-Roubaix is played out in brutal conditions. Gianni Moscon solos at the front for tens of kilometres until a puncture and a crash jinx him. Sonny Colbrelli outsprints Florian Vermeersch and Mathieu van der Poel on the Roubaix Velodrome. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Paris-Roubaix 2021

1. Sonny Colbrelli (ita)
2. Florian Vermeersch (bel) s.t.
3. Mathieu van der Poel (nld) s.t.
4. Gianni Moscon (ita) + 0.44
5. Yves Lampaert (bel) + 1.16
6. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
7. Wout van Aert (bel) s.t.
8. Tom Van Asbroeck (bel) s.t.
9. Guillaume Boivin (can) s.t.
10. Heinrich Haussler (ger) + 3.17

Race report
Trentin, Theuns and Kanter escape in the early kilometres. Trentin is the first one to stop his efforts, while the other two are brought back at kilometre 29.

After 40 kilometres Moscon, Doull, Rowe, Vermeersch, Sweeny, Van der Sande, Van Hooydonck, Roosen, Affini, Ballerini, Declercq, Durbridge, Stannard, Erviti, Jorgensen, Haller, Wright, Van Avermaet, Küng, Philipsen, Oss, Carvalho, Van Asbroeck, Skujins, Bissegger, Stake Laengen, Eekhoff, Walscheid, Mozzato and Maitre break clear. Küng hits the deck and drops back into the peloton, while Haller punctures just before entering the cobbles. The others tackle the first sector with a lead of almost 2 minutes.

Vermeersch, Eekhoff, Rowe and Walscheid head out together with roughly 150 kilometres to go, while Walscheid and Rowe lose contact on sector 24.

The two youngsters hit the Forest of Arenberg 42 seconds ahead of the first chasers with the pre-race favourites group at 1.46 minutes.

Van der Poel sets the pace on the cobbles and the only riders left in his wheel when they enter the tarmac are Boivin, Jorgenson and Colbrelli. A group with Van Aert regains contact later.

The first chasers rejoin the two leaders with 82 kilometres to go before Walscheid, Bissegger, Moscon, Philipsen, Van der Sande and Van Asbroeck push on together. Colbrelli, Lecroq, Boivin and Planckaert attack from the group Van Aert/van der Poel.

Van der Poel accelerates on sector 15. Lampaert is the only one capable to follow his move. For a moment, because the Dutchman drops the Belgian rider and he forges on to rejoin the Colbrelli group.

While Vermeersch, Van Asbroeck and Moscon are the the only remaining leaders, Van der Poel/Colbrelli catch the first chasers.

The three leaders enter the sector from Auchy to Bersée 47 seconds ahead of the Van der Poel group. Moscon goes solo, while Colbrelli and Boivin are the only remaining in Van der Poel’s wheel.

Moscon leaves Mons-en-Pévèle 1.24 minutes ahead of VdP et al.

Van der Poel, Colbrelli and Boivin rejoin Vermeersch and Van Asbroeck with 38 kilometres to go.

Moscon is forced to change bikes with 30 kilometres to go due to a flat tyre. A few kilometres later he hits the deck after problems on the slippery cobbles.

Moscon enters Camphin-en-Pévèle 21 seconds ahead of the five chasers with the group Van Aert 50 seconds further behind.

Boivin crashes out of contention, while Van der Poel, Vermeersch and Colbrelli close in. The three catch the lone attacker on the Carrefour de l’Arbre, and leave him behind.

The three enter the Roubaix Velodrome together. Vermeersch opens the sprint before Colbrelli overhauls him. Van der Poel simply lacks the power after doing most of the work at the front.

Another interesting read: route and start list Paris – Roubaix 2021.

Paris – Roubaix 2021: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris - Roubaix 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!