Paris-Nice: Hero Sean ‘King’ Kelly

Sean Kelly - 7 times winner Paris-NiceParis-Nice suits an all-rounder. In order to win the race you need to be competitive in the time-trial, to climb with the best and to ride in whatever weather conditions the French Spring decides to greet you with. Win the race 7 times in a row? Well, that takes something special, and a rider who is a specialist in all of the above. Enter Mr Sean Kelly. (Slideshow route/profile)

Kelly flew in from rural Ireland and took the cycling world by storm in the 80’s. He could sprint, time-trial and climb and it seemed the more it rained, the greater his winning margin. His palmares are incredible, the very definition of an all-rounder, and he set the bar for which future champions are judged.

4 green jerseys in the Tour, multiple stage wins, multiple Monuments won multiple times, not to mention a grand tour win in the Vuelta. Kelly was also the World number 1 for 5 years running (1984-1988).

The only races to really escape him were the Tour of Flanders, where he was 2nd on 3 occasions, and the Tour de France, where his highest overall position was 4th in 1985.

It became evident that the very high mountains of the Tour were the only terrain where Kelly really suffered. Paris-Nice suited him perfectly however. After his fellow Irishman and great rival Stephen Roche had taken the 1981 edition of the race, Kelly set off on an incredible winning streak from 1982 to 1988, often with Roche as his main rival for the overall in what was total Irish domination of the race in the 80’s.

It’s a record that is unlikely to be beaten. Laurent Jalabert took 3 in a row in the 90’s, but there isn’t an active rider who has even won consecutive titles.  ‘King Kelly’s’ record looks safe for the forseeable future.

Sean Kelly: Ireland’s Greatest ever sportsman?

Paris-Nice: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Winners and records - Paris-Nice Cort wins final stage, Schachmann takes GC in bizarre finale - Paris-Nice 20 GC leader Roglic pockets Queen Stage - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic wins uphill sprint to extend GC lead - Paris-Nice 20 Bennett sprints to victory, Roglic still leader - Paris-Nice 20 Roglic solos to yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Bissegger takes ITT win and yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 3: Starting times ITT - Paris - Nice 20 Sprint triumph Bol, Matthews new leader - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 1: Saint-Cyr-l'École - Saint-Cyr-l'École - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Oinville-sur-Montcient - Amilly - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Gien - Gien - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: Chalon-sur-Saône - Chiroubles - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Vienne - Bollène - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Brignoles - Biot - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 7: Le Broc - Valdeblore La Colmiane - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!