Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Winners and records

Zdenek Stybar - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Winners and recordsOmloop het Nieuwsblad marks the start of the European classics season. The race is held end February, meaning harsh conditions with cold weather on the cobbles and steep hills. First held in 1945, the race used to be called Omloop Het Volk and - in edition 1 and 2 - Omloop of Flanders. brings you all records and the recent winners. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

2019: Zdenek Stybar (cze)
2018: Michael Valgren (den)
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2015: Ian Stannard (gbr)
2014: Ian Stannard (gbr)

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad records

The first fourteen editions were all won by Belgian riders. Since then they added 42 more wins, making Belgium record holder with 56 victories. The last Belgian winner was Greg Van Avermaet (2017).

Ian Stannard took the race both in 2014 and 2015. The Briton is the only non-Belgian rider winning the Omloop twice.

While thirteen Belgians did win the race twice, only three Belgians were able to do so on three occasions: Ernest Sterckx (1952, ’53, ’56), Joseph Bruyère (1974, ’75, ’80) and Peter Van Petegem (1997, ’98, 2002).

Ian Stannard, Greg Van Avermaet and Philippe Gilbert are the only two-time winners who are still in the peloton.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Philippe GilbertZdenek StybarGreg van AvermaetSep VanmarckeMichael Valgren

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2019 Overview - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2019
More articles