Milan - San Remo 2020: Van Aert outguns Alaphilippe in two-up sprint

Wout van Aert 2020 - Milan - San Remo 2020: Live race reportWout Van Aert outguns Julian Alaphilippe in a two-up spint on the Via Roma in San Remo. Michael Matthews wins the group sprint to round out the podium. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Milaan – San Remo 2020

1. Wout Van Aert (bel)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
3. Michael Matthews (aus) + 0.02
4. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
6. Dion Smith (nzl) s.t.
7. Alex Aranburu (spa) s.t.
8. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
9. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.
10. Matej Mohoric (slo) s.t.

Race report
Mattia Bais, Manuele Boaro, Alessandro Tonelli, Damiano Cima, Hector Carretero, Fabio Mazzucco and Marco Frapporti establish the breakaway at kilometre 2. In no-time the seven race to a lead of 7 minutes.

The leaders are reeled in just before reaching the Mediterranean. Alaphilippe punctures on a bad moment, 8 kilometres before the Cipressa, but he restores contact in time.

Vliegen goes on the attack on the early slopes of the ascent and Mosca joins him. Ewan and Gaviria can’t follow the pace at the back.

Bennett drops back on the Poggio, while Aimé De Gendt opens up a small gap. Alaphilippe and Van Aert bring him back before the title defender heads out alone. The Strade Bianche winner crests the summit 3 seconds after Alaphilippe and they come together in the descent.

Another interesting read: route and start list Milan – San Remo 2020.

Milan-San Remo 2020: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Milan - San Remo 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!