Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and records

Remco Evenepoel lbl - Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosWith the inaugural edition dating back to 1892, Liège-Bastogne-Liège is the oldest of all the cycling Classics. 'La Doyenne' is situated in the heart of the Belgian Ardennes and the riders tackle numerous steep climbs on the way back from Bastogne. It is therefore a race in which climbers and puncheurs have the most success.

Recent winners Liège-Bastogne-Liège

2023: Remco Evenepoel (bel)
2022: Remco Evenepoel (bel)
2021: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2020: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2019: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2018: Bob Jungels (lux)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Wout Poels (nld)
2015: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2014: Simon Gerrans (aus)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège records

Eddy Merckx holds the record with five victories in Liège. Three men have won the race three times in a row, Merckx himself, his countryman Léon Houa (who won the first three editions – 1892, ’93 and ’94) and the Italian Moreno Argentin (1985, ’86 and ’87) .

Alejandro Valverde won Liège–Bastogne–Liège four times – in 2006, 2008, 2015, and 2017.

Belgium is the most successful nation in La Doyenne with 60 victories, more than all other nations combined. The edition of 1957 was a special one as there were two winners: Germain Derycke and Frans Schoubben.

Simon GerransDaniel MartinPhilippe GilbertAlejandro ValverdeWout PoelsBob JungelsPrimoz RoglicJakob FuglsangTadej PogacarRemco Evenepoel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2023: Overview
More articles