Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and records

Tadej Pogacar lbl - Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosLiège-Bastogne-Liège is the oldest of all the cycling Classics. 'La Doyenne' is situated in the heart of the Belgian Ardennes with riders tackling numerous steep climbs on the way back from Bastogne like 'La Redoute' and the 'Côte de Saint-Nicolas'. It is therefore a race in which climbers and puncheurs have the most success. takes a look at the recent winners of the race that closes the Classics season.

Recent winners Liège-Bastogne-Liège

2022; ?
2021: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2020: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2019: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2018: Bob Jungels (lux)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Wout Poels (nld)
2015: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2014: Simon Gerrans (aus)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège records

Eddy Merckx holds the record with five victories in Liège. Three men have won the race three times in a row, Merckx himself, his countryman Léon Houa (who won the first three editions – 1892, 1893 and 1894) and the Italian Moreno Argentin.

Alejandro Valverde won Liège–Bastogne–Liège four times – in 2006, 2008, 2015, and 2017.

Belgium is the most successful nation in La Doyenne with 59 victories, more than all other nations combined. The edition of 1957 was a special one as there were two winners: Germain Derycke and Frans Schoubben.

Simon GerransDaniel MartinPhilippe GilbertAlejandro ValverdeWout PoelsBob JungelsPrimoz RoglicJakob FuglsangTadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles