Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and records

Jakob Fuglsang 2019 - Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Winners and recordsLiège-Bastogne-Liège is the oldest of all the cycling Classics. 'La Doyenne' is situated in the heart of the Belgian Ardennes with riders tackling numerous steep climbs on the way back from Bastogne like 'La Redoute' and the 'Côte de Saint-Nicolas'. It is therefore a race in which climbers and puncheurs have the most success. takes a look at the recent winners of the race that closes the Classics season.

Recent winners Liège-Bastogne-Liège

2019: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2018: Bob Jungels (lux)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Wout Poels (nld)
2015: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2014: Simon Gerrans (aus)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège records

Belgian Eddy Merckx holds the record with five victories in Liège. Three men have won the race three times in a row, Merckx himself, his countryman Léon Houa (who won the first three editions – 1892, 1893 and 1894) and the Italian Moreno Argentin.

Alejandro Valverde won Liège–Bastogne–Liège four times – in 2006, 2008, 2015, and 2017.

Belgium is the most successful nation in La Doyenne with 59 victories, more than all other nations combined. The edition of 1957 was a special one as there were two winners: Germain Derycke and Frans Schoubben.

Simon GerransDaniel MartinPhilippe GilbertAlejandro ValverdeWout PoelsBob JungelsJakob Fuglsang

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites - Liège-Bastogne-Liège 2019 Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2019: Overview
More articles