Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Recent winners

alejandro valverde 2017 Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Recent winnersLiège-Bastogne-Liège is the oldest of all the cycling classics. 'La Doyenne' is situated in the heart of the Belgian Ardennes with riders tackling numerous steep climbs on the way back from Bastogne like 'La Redoute' and the 'Cote de Saint-Nicolas'. It is therefore a race in which climbers and puncheurs have the most success. takes a look at the recent winners of the race that closes the classics season. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Liège-Bastogne-Liège

2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Wout Poels (nld)
2015: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2014: Simon Gerrans (aus)
2013: Daniel Martin (irl)
2012: Maksim Iglinski (kaz)
2011: Philippe Gilbert (bel)
2010: Aleksandr Vinokourov (kaz)
2009: Andy Schleck (lux)
2008: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2007: Danilo Di Luca (ita)
2006: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2005: Aleksandr Vinokourov (spa)
2004: Davide Rebellin (ita)
2003: Tyler Hamilton (usa)
2002: Paolo Bettini (ita)
2001: Oscar Camenzind (swi)
2000: Paolo Bettini (ita)

Liège-Bastogne-Liège records

Belgian Eddy Merckx holds the record with 5 victories in Liège. Three men have won the race three times in a row, Merckx himself, his countryman Léon Houa (who won the first 3 editions – 1892, 1893 and 1894) and the Italian Moreno Argentin.

The Belgians are the most successful nation in ‘La Doyenne’ with 59 victories, more than all other nations combined.

Liège–Bastogne–Liège: Route maps, google maps and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Simon GerransDaniel MartinPhilippe GilbertAlejandro ValverdeWout Poels

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles

More articles