La Flèche Wallonne: Recent Winners

alejandro valverde 2016 la fleche wallonneThe Flèche Wallonne is a classic in the Ardennes featuring the infamous Wall of Huy, which is to be climbed several times. In recent years, the race is sandwiched between the Amstel Gold Race and Liège-Bastogne-Liège. With the inaugural race dating back to 1936, brings you the recent winners plus records. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners La Flèche Wallonne

2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2015: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2014: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2013: Daniel Moreno (spa)
2012: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)
2011: Philippe Gilbert (bel)
2010: Cadel Evans (aus)
2009: Davide Rebellin (ita)
2008: Kim Kirchen (lux)
2007: Davide Rebellin (ita)
2006: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2005: Danilo Di Luca (ita)
2004: Davide Rebellin (ita)
2003: Igor Astarloa (spa)
2002: Mario Aerts (bel)
2001: Rik Verbrugghe (bel)
2000: Francesco Casagrande (ita)

Records in La Flèche Wallonne

Four riders managed to win the Flèche Wallonne three times and they go by the names of Marcel Kint (1943,’44, ’45), Eddy Merckx (1967, ’70, ’72), Moreno Argentin (1990, ’91, ’94) and Davide Rebellin (2004, ’07, ’09).

Alejandro Valverde is record holder with five wins (2006, ’14, ’15, ’16 and ’17), of which the last four are back to back wins.

La Flèche Wallonne: Height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Joaquim RodriguezPhilippe GilbertAlejandro ValverdeDaniel Moreno

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles

More articles