Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne: Winners and records

dylan groenewegen 2018 - Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne: Recent WinnersKuurne-Brussels-Kuurne was first held in 1945. Together with Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, the race comprises the Flemish opening weekend. Often, but not by definition, Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne is won by a sprinter. Cyclingstage.com brings you records and recent winners. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne

2018: Dylan Groenewegen (nld)
2017: Peter Sagan (svk)
2016: Jasper Stuyven (bel)
2015: Mark Cavendish (gbr)
2014: Tom Boonen (bel)

Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne records

With three victories, Tom Boonen is record holder. He won the race in 2007, 2009 and 2014.

Taking 53 victories, Belgium is, by far, the most successful country in Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. The edition of 1961 even brought two Belgian victors, Leon van Daele and Fred Debruyne. Without photo-finish it was impossible to decide who had been the fastest in the sprint. The solution was to proclaim two winners.

Mark Cavendish is the only rider in the pack with two victories, so he could join Tom Boonen as the most successful rider in the history of Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Mark CavendishTom BoonenPeter SaganJasper StuyvenDylan Groenewegen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles