Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2018: Matthews outsprints Colbrelli and Van Avermaet

michael matthews 2018 - Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2018: Matthews outsprints Colbrelli and Van AvermaetThe Grand Prix de Montréal is a demanding circuit-race with 4,528 vertical metres. The race boils down to an uphill bunch sprint with Michael Matthews outpowering Sonny Colbrelli and Greg Van Avermaet. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Grand Prix de Montréal 2018

1. Michael Matthews (aus)
2. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
3. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
4. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
5. Timo Roosen (nld) s.t.
6. Rui Costa (por) s.t.
7. Diego Ulissi (ita) s.t.
8. Michael Valgren (den) s.t.
9. Patrick Konrad (aut) s.t.
10. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) s.t.

Race report
Charles-Etienne Chretien, Hugo Houle, Owain Doull, Nigels Ellsay and Adam Roberge escape at km 11 to open up a maximum gap of almost 6 minutes before the peloton takes them on a leash. Chretien can’t follow the pace with 55 kms.

With three laps left the lead of the remaining leaders has fallen to 1 minute when Tim Wellens speeds up. Matej Mohoric, Jan Polanc and Benoit Cosnefroy join him, but only the two Slovenians push on to gobble up the front group. Sep Vanmarcke tries to bridge across along with Gregor Mühlberger and Reinardt Janse van Rensburg.

Just after the bell for the penultimate lap the group comes together, but shortly Mühlberger, Polanc and Mohoric leave the others behind. They cross the line again with a lead of 15 seconds.

James Knox overhauls the leaders on the Côte Camillien-Houde and Tim Wellens tracks him down. Jakob Fuglsang also bridges across. The trio is brought back on the Côte de la Polytechnique before Cosnefroy opens up a gap on the Avenue Claude Champagne climb. But he is brought back in the descent.

Following the U-turn with 560 metres left the last stretch is an uphill slope at 4%. Michael Valgren pushes hard with Sonny Colbrelli patiently on his wheel. The Italian opens up his sprint in a perfect position, but Michael Matthews overhauls him to pip him for the win. Greg Van Avermaet crosses the line in third.

Read also: route Grand Prix de Montréal 2018.

Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Michael Matthews

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!