Giro 2022: Yates wins spectacle race, Carapaz takes pink

Simon yates giro - Giro 2022: Yates wins spectacle race, Carapaz takes pinkimage: Cor VosSimon Yates powers to glory in the attrition race in the hills east of Turin. Jai Hindley finishes in second and Richard Carapaz in third. The Olympic Champion is the new GC leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 14th stage 2022 Giro

1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.15
3. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 0.28
6. João Almeida (por) + 0.39
7. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.51
8. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
9. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.10
10. Juan Pedro López (ita) + 5.25

GC after stage 14
1. Richard Carapaz (ecu)
2. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.07
3. João Almeida (por) + 0.30
4. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.59
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 1.01
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 1.52
7. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.58
8. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 2.58
9. Juan Pedro López (ita) + 4.04
10. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 9.06

Race report
The peloton is still bunched at the foot of the first climb of the day, Il Pilonetto. Joe Dombrowski jumps off the front and Diego Rosa, Ignatas Konovalovas and Filippo Zana join. KOM leader Rosa cements his lead on the summit before Ben Zwiehoff, Diego Camargo, Alessandro Covi and Iván Sosa bridge across on descent. James Knox, Nans Peters, Sylvain Moniquet and Oscar Riesebeek extend the lead group to 12 riders.

The leaders open up a 3 minutes gap, but it goes down fast when BORA hansgrohe speeds up on the circuit. The catch is made on the first climb up to the Basilica of Superga. Almeida has been dropped from the first group, but he regains contact before the summit.

The lead group features Kelderman, Buchmann, Hindley, Carapaz, Landa, Bilbao, Nibali, Hirt, Pozzovivo, Yates, Almeida and pink jersey López until they tackle the last Superga ascent. Kelderman stops pulling and the group implodes. Only Nibali, Hindley, Carapaz and López remaining at first, while the rest – except Hirt – regain contact later.

Carapaz strikes to reach the summit 20 seconds ahead of the first chasers. López has been dropped and is 30 seconds further behind.

The Olympic Champion tackles the Colle della Maddalena with a 24 seconds lead. Nibali attacks and Hindley joins him. Yates comes clawing back, but without closing the gap.

Hindley leaves Nibali behind to rejoin Carapaz, but the Shark of Messina bridges across before the summit. As does Yates.

The Briton leaves his companions behind on a short and sharp climb inside the last 5 kilometres. He solos to victory, while Hindley wins the sprint for second place ahead of Carapaz.

The Ecuadorian takes the maglia rosa, 7 seconds ahead of Hindley with Almeida 30 seconds in arrears.

Another interesting read: route 14th stage 2022 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2022 stage 14: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Rosa stays in blue - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!