Giro 2020: Magnificent solo victory Sagan, Almeida still in pink

Stage 10 is a spectacle race from start to finish. Peter Sagan solos to victory from the breakaway, while João Almeida retains the maglia rosa. Jakob Fuglsang loses 1.15 minute due to an untimely mechanical. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 10th stage Giro d’Italia 2020

1. Peter Sagan (svk)
2. Brandon McNulty (usa) + 0.19
3. João Almeida (por) + 0.23
4. Ben Swift (gbr) s.t.
5. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
6. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.
7. Patrick Konrad (aut) s.t.
8. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
10. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.

12. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
14. Fausto Masnada (ita) s.t.
21. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 1.38

GC after stage 10
1. João Almeida (por)
2. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.34
3. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 0.43
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 0.57
5. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 1.01
6. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 1.15
7. Jai Hindley (aus) + 1.19
8. Rafal Majka (pol) + 1.21
9. Fausto Masnada (ita) + 1.36
10. Hermann Pernsteiner (aut) + 1.52

11. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 2.20

Race report
Simon Clarke, Ben Swift, Matthias Brändle, Simone Ravanelli and Marco Mathis open a gap after 26 kilometres of hard racing. The fight goes on and Peter Sagan and Filippo Ganna are among a big group that tracks the leaders down.

Sagan en Ganna push on together en they crest the first KOM climb, in Chieti, together. Ben Swift, Simon Clarke, Ignatas Konovalovas, Dario Cataldo, Giulio Ciccone, Nicolas Edet, Stephane Rossetto, Davide Villella and Jhonatan Restrepo rejoin the duo after 50 kilometres.

Groupama FDJ does not want Sagan in the break and Konovalovas drops back to help his team mates with the chase.

They bring the gap down to 20 seconds before it widens again. Edet, Rossetto and Ciccone stop their efforts and with 88 kilometres remaining Groupama-FDJ finally gives up. The lead extends to more than 4 minutes.

The gap falls on the finishing circuit, which inspires Cataldo and Swift to head out together. Sagan, Villella and Restrepo track them down. Ganna does the same, but after a 10 kilometres chase.

While Bilbao attacks with 22 kilometres remaining, Pozzovivo punctures. Sagan and Swift leave their companions behind on the last climb to Tortoreto and Vanhoucke drops back in the GC group. Pozzovivo regains contact before the top.

Sagan goes alone on the last ascent and he enters the descent 10 seconds ahead of Bilbao. Fuglsang punctures in the downhill.

While the GC group brings Bilbao back, McNulty gives it a try on the flat coastal roads. To no avail. Sagan solos to victory.

McNulty finishes in second, while Almeida sprints to third place, cementing his lead with a time bonus of 4 seconds.

Fuglsang crosses the line 1.15 minutes later and drops to 11th place in the GC.

Another interesting read: route 10th stage 2020 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2020 stage 10: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Peter Sagan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
- virtual: Route - Giro 2020 Riders - Giro 2020 - virtual: Riders - Giro 2020 Withdrawals - Giro 2020 Results - Giro 2020 GC Favourites - Giro 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!