Giro 2018 Stage 9: Simon Yates wins on Gran Sasso to cement lead

Stage 9 on the Giro travels over two intermediate climbs to finish on Gran Sasso after a mega-long last climb. Simon Yates wins the sprint of an elite group ahead of Thibaut Pinot and Esteban Chaves. Tom Dumoulin comes in 12 second later, while Chris Froome loses more than a minute. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 9th stage 2018 Giro d’Italia

1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
3. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 0.04
5. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
6. Davide Formolo (ita) + 0.10
7. George Bennett (nzl) + 0.12
8. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
9. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
10. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 0.24

11. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 0.26
12. Michael Woods (can) + 0.36
14. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 0.52
16. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 1.00
17. Wout Poels (nld) + 1.02
20. Sam Oomen (nld) s.t.
21. Rohan Dennis (aus) s.t.
23. Chris Froome (gbr) + 1.07
24. Fabio Aru (ita) + 1.14
25. Sergio Henao (col) + 1.17

GC after the 9th stage
1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Esteban Chaves (col) + 0.32
3. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.38
4. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.45
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 0.57
6. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 1.20
7. George Bennett (nzl) + 1.33
8. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 2.05
9. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
10. Michael Woods (can) + 2.25

11. Chris Froome (gbr) + 2.27
12. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 2.34
13. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
14. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 2.36
15. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.
16. Carlos Betancur (col) + 2.46
17. Sam Oomen (nld) + 2.54
18. Sergio Henao (col) + 3.14

Race report
Once the flag is dropped a group of fourteen riders opens up a gap. Brambilla, Visconti, Andreetta, Masnada, Carthy, Boaro, Turrin, Ballerini, Berhane, Benedetti, Wellens, Belkov, Cherel and Didier race to a lead of more than 7 minutes.

After the passage over the first climb in Roccaraso the gap widens to more than 8 minutes, which is still the lead when the riders tackle the second climb. Astana accelerates in the peloton and the lead falls to 4 minutes over the top.

Shortly the riders hit the final haul up the Gran Sasso and the front group implodes. Masnada, Boaro, Visconti, Brambilla, Carthy and Chérel are the last men standing before Mitchelton-Scott ups the pace with 20 kms left to climb and the lead goes further down to 3 minutes, which inspires Fausto Masnada to head out alone.

The 24-year old Italian is caught by the main group with 3 kms remaining. Fabio Aru is struggling… and drops.

Giulio Ciccone strikes on the steepest stretches, while Chris Froome can’t follow the pace with 2 kms left. Ciccone is brought back and when the flamme rouge flies over the road a group of eleven riders are still together. Defending champion Tom Dumoulin cracks and a five-man group are up the road in the last hundred metres.

Maglia rosa Simon Yates strikes in the last corner and powers to the win ahead Thibaut Pinot and Esteban Chaves. Dumoulin gives away 12 seconds plus time bonuses, while Chris crosses the line more than 1 minute after the stage winner and impressive overall leader, Yates.

Read also:  route 9th stage 2018 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2018 stage 9: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Giro 20 Withdrawals - Giro 20 Results - Giro 20 Favourites - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!