Giro 2018 Stage 10: Mohoric bests Denz in spint- à-deux, Yates still leader

The 10th stage of the Giro is a spectacle race of 244 kilometres. Esteban Chaves drops on the first climb and is distanced by the peloton. The stage boils down to a two-up sprint with Matej Mohoric besting Nico Denz. Simon Yates retains the overall leader, while Tom Dumoulin takes Chaves' second place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 10th stage 2018 Giro d’Italia

1. Matej Mohoric (slo)
2. Nico Denz (ger) s.t.
3. Sam Bennett (irl) + 0.34
4. Enrico Battaglin (ita) s.t.
5. Davide Ballerini (ita) s.t.
6. Mads Würtz Schmidt (den) s.t.
7. Francesco Gavazzi (ita) s.t.
8. Jarlinson Pantano (col) s.t.
9. Gianluca Brambilla (ita) s.t.
10. José Goncalves (por) s.t.

135. Esteban Chaves (col) +  25.25

GC after the 10th stage
1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.41
3. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.46
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 1.00
5. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 1.23
6. George Bennett (nzl) + 1.36
7. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 2.08
8. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
9. Michael Woods (can) + 2.28
10. Chris Froome (gbr) + 2.30

11. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 2.37
12. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
13. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 2.39
14. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.
15. Carlos Betancur (col) + 2.49
16. Sam Oomen (nld) + 2.57
17. Sergio Henao (col) + 3.17

Race report
Pantano, Conti and Hermans give it a go early on, while Bouwman, Mohoric, Ballerini, King, Mosca, LL Sánchez, Neilands, Martin (Tony), Pedersen, Scully, Montaguti, Fernandez, Schmidt and Ciccone jump across.

As Esteban Chaves is in trouble, SKY pushes hard on the Fonte della Creta and brings the lead of the front group down from 3 minutes to 1 minute. Fernandez, Schmidt, Pedersen, Mosca and Scully are dropped. The front group travels over the crest of the Fonte della Creta with Ciccone grossing most KOM points.

On the Bruzzolana climb Ciccone once again pockets most KOM points. The leaders crest 1’20” ahead of the peloton with Chaves another 2 minutes further back. All GC-teams work together to distance the Colombian.

While the other breakaway riders are taken in by the peloton, Tony Martin and Krists Neilands head out together. Neilands is first to stop his efforts before Martin realizes it will be hard (even for him) to hold off the chasers until the line.

The group Chaves manages to bring the gap down to 1 minute halfway through the race before it widens to more than 4 minutes. It’s over for his GC-hopes at this Giro.

Simon Yates grabs the opportunity to pocket a time bonus of 3 seconds ahead of Thibaut Pinot in the intermediate sprint with 90 kms to go.

Then Marco Frapporti jumps clear. He races to a lead of almost 3 minutes, while Davide Villella goes after him with 40 kms to go when the gap is down to 2 minutes. Matej Mohoric rejoins the lone chaser and they track Frapporti down in a 10 kms chase, just before cresting the last KOM-climb. The peloton reaches the crests half a minute later.

On descent Mohoric distances Villella, but the Italian rejoins the race-lead. Nico Denz hooks on a little later with the peloton more than 1 minute back.

Mohoric puts pressure on the other two and Villella can’t follow. In the rest of the race the 23-year Slovenian and the 24-year old German work together before Mohoric takes the win in the ensuing sprint.

Simon Yates finishes safely in the peloton along with Tom Dumoulin and Thibaut Pinot, who move up to second and third place – 41 seconds and 46 seconds down on the maglia rosa.

Tomorrow’s stage ends with a twisting and punchy finale in the old town of Osimo.

Read also: route 10th stage 2018 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2018 stage 10: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Matej Mohoric

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Giro 20 Withdrawals - Giro 20 Results - Giro 20 Favourites - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!