Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and records

Christophe Laporte - Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosSince 1934 Gent-Wevelgem is one of the Flemish classics. The route is peppered with climbs like the Kemmelberg along a string of cobbled sectors. Winds often play a crucial role in the race. brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Gent-Wevelgem

2023: Christophe Laporte (fra)
2022: Biniam Girmay (eri)
2021: Wout van Aert (Be)
2020: Mads Pedersen (den)
2019: Alexander Kristoff (nor)
2018: Peter Sagan (svk)
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Peter Sagan (svk)
2015: Luca Paolini (ita)
2014: John Degenkolb (ger)

Records in Gent-Wevelgem

The Belgians are in control in Gent-Wevelgem. The race was pocketed 50 times by home riders.

Six riders did win the race three times and one of them is still competing: Peter Sagan. He won in 2013, 2016 and 2018, while the other three-time winners are Tom Boonen (2004, 2011, 2012), Mario Cipollini (1992, 1993, 2012), Eddy Merckx (1967, 1970, 1973), Rik Van Looy (1956, 1957, 1962), and Robert Van Eenaeme (1936, 1937, 1945).

John DegenkolbTom BoonenPeter SaganAlexander KristoffGreg van AvermaetWout van AertMads PedersenChristophe LaporteBiniam Girmay

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Gent - Wevelgem 2023 Gent-Wevelgem 2023: Overview
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!