Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and records

Mads Pedersen - Gent - Wevelgem: Winners and recordsSince 1934 Gent-Wevelgem is one of the Flemish classics. The route is peppered with climbs like the Kemmelberg along a string of cobbled sectors. Winds often play a crucial role in the race. brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Gent-Wevelgem

2020: Mads Pedersen (den)
2019: Alexander Kristoff (nor)
2018: Peter Sagan (svk)
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Peter Sagan (svk)
2015: Luca Paolini (ita)
2014: John Degenkolb (ger)

Records in Gent-Wevelgem

The Belgians are in control in Gent-Wevelgem. The race was pocketed 49 times by homeriders.

Six riders did win the race three times and one of them is still competing: Peter Sagan. He won in 2013, 2016 and 2018, while the other three-time winners are Tom Boonen (2004, 2011, 2012), Mario Cipollini (1992, 1993, 2012), Eddy Merckx (1967, 1970, 1973), Rik Van Looy (1956, 1957, 1962), and Robert Van Eenaeme (1936, 1937, 1945).

John DegenkolbTom BoonenPeter SaganAlexander KristoffGreg van AvermaetMads Pedersen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles