Gent - Wevelgem: Recent Winners

greg van avermaet 2017 - Gent - Wevelgem: Recent WinnersSince 1934 Gent-Wevelgem is one of the Flemish classics. The route is peppered with climbs like the Kemmelberg along a string of cobbled sectors. Winds often play a crucial role in the race. brings you the records and recent winners. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Gent-Wevelgem

2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Peter Sagan (svk)
2015: Luca Paolini (ita)
2014: John Degenkolb (ger)
2013: Peter Sagan (svk)
2012: Tom Boonen (bel)
2011: Tom Boonen (bel)
2010: Bernhard Eisel (aus)
2009: Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor)
2008: Óscar Freire (spa)
2007: Marcus Burghardt (ger)
2006: Thor Hushovd (nor)
2005: Nico Mattan (bel)
2004: Tom Boonen (bel)
2003: Andreas Klier (ger)
2002: Mario Cipollini (ita)
2001: George Hincapie (usa)
2000: Geert Van Bondt (bel)

Records in Gent-Wevelgem

The Belgians are in control in their own race. Gent-Wevelgem was won three times by Robert Van Eenaeme (1936, 1937 and 1945), Rik Van Looy (1956, 1957 and 1962), Eddy Merckx (1967, 1970 and 1973) and Tom Boonen (2004, 2011 and 2012). The only ‘foreigner’ goes by the name of Mario Cipollini. The charismatic Italian was victorious in 1992, 1993 and 2002.

Tom Boonen needs one more victory to be the sole record holder.

Gent – Wevelgem: Route maps, Google Maps and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Tom BoonenPeter SaganGreg van AvermaetLuca PaoliniEdvald Boasson Hagen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles

More articles