Gent - Wevelgem 2016: Favourites

On most occasions Gent-Wevelgem is a sprinters party. Obviously, these are the fast men who are not afraid of cobbles and hills. So the likes of Sagan and Boonen. brings you the major contenders to win Gent-Wevelgem 2016. (Slideshow route/profile)

Of the current contenders Peter Sagan (2013) and Tom Boonen (2004, 2011, 2012) know what it’s like to win Gent-Wevelgem.

Luca Paolini is title holder. His victory was somewhat atypical as the 2015 edition brought atrocious weather, albeit this is not a completely unknown phenomenon in Gent-Wevelgem. When Boasson Hagen took the flowers in 2009 spring wasn’t in her most seductive disguise either, but last year was really something else with riders literally being blown of their bikes.

But, as said, normally Gent-Wevelgem favours the sprinters. Obviously the kind of sprinters who are strong enough to brave those nasty Flemish hills, especially since Kemmelberg is to be climbed from the steep side in the 2016 edition.

Favourites Gent – Wevelgem 2016:

*** Peter Sagan, Tom Boonen, Fernado Gaviria
** Fabian Cancellara, André Greipel, Jens Debusschere, Arnaud Démare, Nacer Bouhanni
* Greg Van Avermaet, Danny van Poppel, Tiesj Benoot, Sep Vanmarcke

Gent-Wevelgem 2016: Route maps, height profile, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Gent - Wevelgem 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!