Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and records

Dylan van Baarle ddv - Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosDwars door Vlaanderen started out as Dwars door België in 1945, which means Across Belgium. For a long time it has been a two days stage-race, but as of 1965 it found its current form as a one-day race. In 2000 the name was changed to Dwars door Vlaanderen. Cyclingstage.com brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Dwars door Vlaanderen

2021: Dylan van Baarle (nld)
2020: cancelled
2019: Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2018: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2017: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2016: Jens Debusschere (bel)
2015: Jelle Wallays (bel)
2014: Niki Terpstra (nld)

Dwars door Vlaanderen records
Belgium is the most successful country, which does not come as a big surprise as the race is on Belgian soil. 55 editions were won by a home rider.

Thirteen Belgians did win Dwars door Vlaanderen twice. Ten of them were Belgian: André Rosseel (1948, 1950), Raymond Impanis (1949, 1951), Briek Schotte (1953, 1955), Walter Godefroot (1966, 1968), Daniel Van Ryckeghem (1967, 1970), Walter Planckaert (1977, 1984), Eric Vanderaerden (1986, 1991), Johan Museeuw (1993, 1999), Niko Eeckhout (2001, 2005) and Yves Lampaert (2017, 2018).

Three Dutchmen brought home the bacon twice: Jelle Nijdam (1987, 1995), Tristan Hoffman (1996, 2000) and Niki Terpstra (2012, 2014).

Tom BoonenNiki TerpstraJens DebusschereYves LampaertDylan van BaarleMathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Dwars door Vlaanderen 20 Overview - Dwars door Vlaanderen 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!