Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and records

Mathieu van der Poel - Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and recordsDwars door Vlaanderen started out in 1945 as Dwars door België, which means Across Belgium. For a long time it has been a two days stage-race, but as of 1965 it found its current form as a one-day race. In 2000 the name was changed to Dwars door Vlaanderen. Cyclingstage.com brings you all record holders and recent winners. (Slideshow route/profile)

Recent winners Dwars door Vlaanderen

2019: Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2018: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2017: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2016: Jens Debusschere (bel)
2015: Jelle Wallays (bel)
2014: Niki Terpstra (nld)

Dwars door Vlaanderen records
Belgium is the most successful country, which does not come as a big surprise as the race is on Belgian soil. 55 editions were won by a home rider.

Thirteen riders did win Dwars door Vlaanderen twice. Nine of them were Belgian: André Rosseel (1948, 1950), Raymond Impanis (1949, 1951), Briek Schotte (1953, 1955), Walter Godefroot (1966, 1968), Daniel Van Ryckeghem (1967, 1970), Walter Planckaert (1977, 1984), Eric Vanderaerden (1986, 1991), Johan Museeuw (1993, 1999) and Niko Eeckhout (2001, 2005).

On three occasions it was a Dutchman who brought home the bacon: Jelle Nijdam (1987, 1995), Tristan Hoffman (1996, 2000), Niki Terpstra (2012, 2014) and Yves Lampaert (2017, 2018).

Terpstra is the only two times-winner who is still in the peloton.

Dwars door Vlaanderen: Route, profile maps and more

Click on the images to zoom

Tom BoonenNiki TerpstraJens DebusschereYves LampaertMathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2019
More articles