Critérium du Dauphiné: Recent winners

geraint thomas 2018 - Critérium du Dauphiné: Recent winnersThe Critérium du Dauphiné (formerly the Dauphiné Libéré) is an eight-day stage race. It takes place in the French Dauphiné region in early June. The road book contains several mountain stages - very often visiting climbs like the Mont Ventoux -, making it the perfect preparation for the Tour de France which follows soon after. Expect the riders on the Dauphine podium to have a big impact at the Tour. presents the recent winners and record holders.

Recent winners Critérium du Dauphiné

2018: Geraint Thomas (gbr)
2017: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2016: Chris Froome (gbr)
2015: Chris Froome (gbr)
2014: Andrew Talansky (usa)

Critérium du Dauphiné records

Five riders did win the Dauphiné three times: Chris Froome (gbr), Nello Lauredi (fra), Luis Ocaña (spa), Charly Mottet (fra) and five times Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault (fra).

The fastest time up Mont Ventoux was recorded in the 2004 Dauphiné. In the mountain time trial, Iban Mayo took just 55 minutes and 51 seconds to go from valley to summit, that’s an incredible average speed of 23.2 kph. Unfortunately, we know now that Mayo was doping during this period rendering his achievement irrelevant.

Critérium du Dauphiné: Videos, images and Tweets

Click on the images to zoom

Chris FroomeAlejandro ValverdeBradley WigginsGeraint ThomasAndrew Talansky

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
2 comment(s)

Related articles

More articles